H2O

It’s ten-forty and Dad doesn’t show signs of stopping.

I, however, am fading. But, I’ll hang in there. He was awake almost the entire day. So, I’m surprised he didn’t doze off earlier tonight or hasn’t wanted to go get washed up for bed yet.

As long as he feels good, and is in this comfortable place–feet up in his recliner tapping to the soft Christmas classics on the TV, reading the trivia on the screen, and bedtime snack of a half PB and agave sandwich on sourdough bread and mug of 2% milk in his tummy, I’m good with it.

But I have a midnight deadline for my blog post. So, I sit here next to him keying into my iPhone instead of my more obtrusive laptop.

Oh my gosh! “Do They Know It’s Christmas”! I love this song! Usually it is Sinatra, Crosby, or Como, but they throw in some more contemporary songs occasionally, too.

When Band Aid recorded “Do They Know It’s Christmas”, I bought like 10 of the 45’s (ask your mom or dad or a grandparent) and gave them as gifts. I probably have a survivor somewhere with my vinyl.

Reminds me, I’ll have to ask my sweetheart to send me my Now That’s What I Call Christmas CDs.

Now, although I had another post formulating in my head most of the day, I’m going to go with a different one that requires a little less time and energy.

Yesterday Dad and I were talking to a woman who I thought had a cute drinking cup, so I told her so.

Turns out she had bought it for herself on my suggestion.

Indeed, I did recommend it.

A cup with a lid, and importantly, a straw. Pretty much an adult sippy cup.

As you know, it is important to drink a lot of water and for a lot of reasons. Keeps you hydrated, helps keep you feeling full, good for keeping everything inside flowing, good for your skin, and I’m sure several other benefits I can’t think of at the moment.

If you didn’t know, you drink more liquid in a shorter period of time when you use a straw. It is a fact.

If you don’t believe me, see how quicker your cocktails go down when you use a straw vs. sipping from the side.

So, this is why when I hear anyone say they want to lose weight, or simply eat healthier, or they feel sluggish,  I recommend going to a store that sells adult sippy cups and finding one that appeals to you. Whether it is a solid one, has an inspiring quote, or pictures of kittens, be sure you really like how it looks. You should have a separate one for wherever you go through the day. One for home. A different one at work. And another for the car.

As a matter of fact, when my nieces got their driver’s licenses, I gave them each a cup like this. It seems to me having a cup with a lid and straw is safer than a water bottle. Since it has a straw you don’t have to lift it up in front of your face.

Another reason you want to use a sippy cup instead of a water bottle is that it requires less effort. No need to remove anything or to twist a lid. It’s handsfree drinking! Just lean over and sip on the straw. (Do not do this while driving!)

The funny thing is that I realized I don’t have a sippy cup here since I’ve been in Ohio. And I definitely haven’t been drinking enough water.

So, my next New Yay’s  Resolution:

Get several sippy cups and use them faithfully everyday so I am consuming at least the minimum amount of water recommended by experts.

Yay!

One thought on “H2O

  1. Pingback: No Weighting–I’m With the Band! | This Is My 50

Leave a comment